Mirror of Zen Blog

Breakfast with the Four Divisions of Buddhism

According to the Buddha, there are four divisions or “streams” of practice available to human beings (사부대중/): as a Bhikkhu (ordained monk), a Bikkhuni (ordained nun), as a lay woman, or as a lay man.

Recently, we had all four divisions of practice enjoying breakfast together in our kitchen. It wasn’t the first time we have hosted the four divisions of Buddhism in our temple, but this time — with visiting nuns as the reason for our gathering — it just felt so much more special.




Share this on:

Related Posts: